Key Principles: Popular Sovereignty , Separation of Powers, Federalism, Republicanism (No monarchy), Checks and Balances, Legislative Branch: Senate - Upper House of 100 Senators (elected), Bicameral System, Representatives - Lower House of 435 (elected), Senate - Power to Impeach (Charge with misconduct), Law making powers, Article 1 (Defines function and powers), Congress, Congress - Initiates tax laws and spending bills, Senate approves Presidential Treaties and appointments, House + Senate , Executive Branch: The President - Signs / Vetoes legislation , The Cabinet, Executive Orders, Head of State, Government + C-in-C of the Army, Power to Pardon, President is Head of State, Article 2, Judicial Branch: Supreme Court - Highest Court, Federal Courts, Interprets the Laws, Can declare executive actions / laws unconstitutional , 9 SC Judges - serve for life, Article 3, Interprets the Constitution, Justices nominated by the President, Third part of Government, Rulings are 'final' (All Federal courts then follow suit),

US Constitution and Government




Switch template


Restore auto-saved: ?